The History

Shri Mahesh Ghatradyal

Born in Timapur on July 11th, 1924. Passed away in Paris on August 21rst, 2007.

« Love is my law, Truth is my fight »

Orphan, he practices yoga since the age of five and follows the teachings of Swamy Mrityunjava at Shiva Yoga Mandir Ashram.

Shri Mahesh Ghatradyal receives an education respectful of traditional Indian values and open to the world. He practices yoga consistently and rigorously, making this body and soul discipline his own. At fourteen year old, he shows amazing dispositions for athleticism and especially for running.

In 1947, he takes part in the University World Olympic Games. He then gets offered a scholarship to study at the Ecole Supérieure d’Education Physique in Joinville, near Paris.

With a degree from the Medical School of Geneva under the aegis of Professor Fritz Baumann, he starts working as a doctor in the 1960s both at the hospital Percy in Clamart and at the hospital Necker in Paris, which specializes in childcare.

In 1959, he creates the Centre de Relations Culturelles Franco-Indien (CRCFI), with the support of many French personalities, among whom André Malraux (Secretary of culture), Jeannine Auboyer (Curator at the Guimet museum), professors Jean Filliozat and Paul Mus (experts of India), doctors Françoise Dolto (psychiatrist) and François Creff (nutritionist), and Robert Salmon (Director of France Soir). His goal consists of favoring a better knowledge of Indian culture in France. This is to be done through the organization of cultural and artistic events and by spreading the teaching of traditional Hatha Yoga, with the publication of the journal Yoga et Vie from 1974 on.

He is the first one to provide a structure to the teaching of yoga in France with the creation of the Fédération Française de Hatha Yoga in 1969, whose goal is to disclose this practice to a wider audience. In 1971, he creates the Ligue Francophone de Hatha Yoga in Belgium. He extends his influence to Guadeloupe and Polynesia. The International School of Traditional Yoga (EIDYT) opens in 1981. These two structures train future teachers to this practice, with the obtention of a certificate after a four-year period.

France pays him a tribute for his initiatives:

In 1996, he receives the award of Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite

In 2005, he receives the award of Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur

In 2008, after he passed away, the FFHY and the EIDYT merge.

Shri Mahesh

The association France Inde Karnataka

1994 : Creation of the association

1995 : First medical consultations in one of the rooms at Halligudi’s school

1995 : The construction of the hospital starts

1997 : Official opening and first consultations at the hospital 

2002 : Construction of a temple dedicated to Ganesh, in the respect of local culture

2003 : Construction of a canteen, converted into a reception room during awareness campaigns

2007 : Death of the founder Shri Mahesh Ghatradyal

2008 : Construction of the founder’s memorial, on the campus of the hospital, and first anniversary of his disappearance

2008 : Juliette Sushila Ghatradyal, his eldest daughter, is elected president of the association

2008 : Specialist medical camps and awareness raising campaigns are developed, with the support of French volunteer nurses

2010 : Opening of a site manager position for a French national working at the hospital

2012 : Renovation work to upgrade infrastructures and meet international standards. New batteries enable the hospital to improve its autonomy and decrease power cuts, prevalent in the region, thanks to Air Liquide’s support

2013 : making of a reportage about F.I.K. and access to healthcare by the association « Tournons le Monde » (ESSEC)

2014 : project « Health to All » : renovation of the medical test laboratory and acquisition of a new ambulance in order to break inhabitants’ isolation and to ensure regular tours in the poorest villages of the region

2015 : 20th anniversary of the hospital and its first consultations, and 200.000th patient treated at the healthcare center

L’histoire

Le fondateur Shri Mahesh Ghatradyal

Né à Timapur le 11 juillet 1924, il s’éteint à Paris le 21 août 2007.

« L’amour est ma loi, la vérité est mon combat »

Orphelin, il pratique le yoga dès l’âge de cinq ans et suit les enseignements du maître Swami Mrityunjaya à l’Ashram Shivayogamandhir.

Shri Mahesh Ghatradyal a reçu une éducation respectueuse des valeurs traditionnelles indiennes et ouverte sur le monde. Il pratique le yoga avec constance et rigueur, et fait sienne cette discipline du corps et de l’esprit. A 14 ans, il montre des dispositions exceptionnelles pour l’athlétisme et excelle tout particulièrement en course à pied.

En 1947, il participe aux Jeux Olympiques Mondiaux Universitaires. Il obtient ensuite une bourse pour suivre l’enseignement de l’Ecole Supérieure d’Education Physique de Joinville.

Diplômé de la faculté de Médecine de Genève sous l’égide du professeur Fritz Baumann, il a exercé à partir des années 60 au sein de l’hôpital Percy à Clamart et auprès des enfants malades de l’hôpital Necker.

Il a créé en 1959 le Centre de Relations Culturelles Franco-Indien (CRCFI) avec le soutien de nombreuses personnalités dont André Malraux (ministre de la culture), Jeanine Auboyer (conservateur du musée Guimet), les professeurs Jean Filliozat et Paul Mus (spécialistes de l’étude de l’Inde), les docteurs Françoise Dolto (pédopsychiatre) et François Creff (nutritionniste) et Robert Salmon (directeur de France Soir). Son but est d’étendre la culture indienne en organisant des manifestations culturelles et artistiques ainsi qu’en diffusant l’enseignement du Hatha Yoga Traditionnel, notamment avec la revue Yoga et Vie qui paraitra à partir de 1974.

Il est le premier à donner une structure à l’enseignement du yoga en France en créant en 1969 la Fédération Française de Hatha Yoga (FFHY), dont le but est de faire connaître cette pratique (posture et respiration) au grand public. En 1971, il créé la Ligue Francophone de Hatha Yoga en Belgique. Il étendra son rayonnement jusque dans les DOM TOM : Guadeloupe et Polynésie. L’École Internationale du Yoga Traditionnel (EIDYT) ouvre ses portes en 1981. Ces deux structures forment des enseignants à cette discipline avec un diplôme délivré au bout de quatre années.

La France lui rend hommage pour ses initiatives :

En 1996, la médaille de Chevalier de l’ordre national du mérite.

En 2005, la croix de Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur.

En 2008, après sa disparition la FFHY et l’EIDYT fusionnent.

Shri Mahesh

L’association France Inde Karnataka

1994 : l’association est fondée

1995 : ouverture des premières consultations médicales dans une salle d’école d’Halligudi

1995 : lancement de la construction de l’hôpital d’Halligudi

1997 : inauguration et premières consultations à l’hôpital d’Halligudi

2002 : construction du temple de Ganesh en harmonie avec la culture locale

2003 : construction d’une cantine qui sera reconvertie en « auditorium » pour les campagnes de sensibilisation

2007 : décès du président fondateur Shri Mahesh Ghatradyal

2008 : construction de son mémorial sur le campus de l’hôpital d’Halligudi et premier anniversaire de sa disparition avec le retour des cendres

2008 : Juliette Sushila Ghatradyal, sa fille ainée, est élue à la présidence de l’association

2008 : développement des camps de spécialistes et des campagnes de sensibilisation à l’hygiène avec le soutien des infirmières bénévoles françaises

2010 : création du poste de responsable de site français en volontariat de solidarité internationale

2012 : vaste chantier de mise aux normes des infrastructures électriques et mise en place de nouvelles batteries permettant à l’hôpital d’augmenter sa capacité en électricité et de lutter contre les coupures qui sont fréquentes dans la région grâce au soutien d’Air Liquide

2013 : réalisation d’un reportage sur l’association et l’accès à la santé par l’association « Tournons le Monde » de l’Essec

2014 : projet « Health to All »: rénovation du laboratoire d’analyses et acquisition d’une nouvelle ambulance afin de rompre l’isolement et assurer des tournées dans les villages les plus démunis autours d’Halligudi

2015 : 20e anniversaire de l’hôpital d’Halligudi et des premières consultations. 200’000ème patient

l_histoire